Stepmania Online

Join the Online Revolution
It is currently Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Timing is now in effect.
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 156
Timing is now in effect:

Timing is basically listed as a modifier, in chat and scores in red on the site when it is detected that a client is using more loose/lax judgement window settings in their client. This means they either turned their judgement difficulty to a value below four or manually modified their stepmania.ini fille or are using a version that is modified. Your stepmania.ini should be:

Code:
JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.022500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.045000
JudgeWindowSecondsRoll=0.350000


Any higher values can result in TIMING results. If you are listed as timing you should insure your settings are correct.

If it is detected as TIMING you will not get experience for the song.

Using tighter (IE: higher judge difficulty or smaller values then above) you will not be detected as 'timing.'

Here is a list of players who have had all their previous songs set to timing:

Code:
 .
 33ReBoRN33
 alsacia07
 Berserkerfur
 DaFF
 daica
 EVIL
 H0RiZ0N
 HackerSmo
 hirakosebasx
 jeremy18
 Kangoe
 kawakami
 Kevin7706
 Koni_Control
 KZSR_DIO_ID
 Liberat3D
 LordZai
 makers
 Ninjacide
 oswaldinhu
 PlagueOfCats
 sandra
 sebax
 Shaiik
 ShikiZ
 Shirogane
 stinkzeek
 Tevinhead
 ViRaL
 x-cOLoSo
 XgenSlayer
 zagbag
 ZOMBIE BaZ0oKa
 ZOMBIE FeNiiX


The server has been tracking this for quite some time but not listed on the site and you still got experience. That behavior was changed today as now it is site/server-wide.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:28 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Switzerland
Oh, I found it weird for me to be on that list but I think my timings are ITG ones (not sure about the numbers but I can link here what I have):

Code:
JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.130000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.102000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.021500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.070000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.320000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.043000
JudgeWindowSecondsRoll=0.350000


We can see that I have a significant higher value for greats and okays but aside from that my timing is tighter. I'll adapt nonetheless, thanks for posting this :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 156
EvilAngel00 wrote:
Oh, I found it weird for me to be on that list but I think my timings are ITG ones (not sure about the numbers but I can link here what I have):

Code:
JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.130000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.102000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.021500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.070000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.320000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.043000
JudgeWindowSecondsRoll=0.350000


We can see that I have a significant higher value for greats and okays but aside from that my timing is tighter. I'll adapt nonetheless, thanks for posting this :)


Yeah some are tighter except for greats. This makes sense why your average timing count per song was a lot less than others but we definitely need everyone to be standard to make sure some people are not playing under easier conditions. Granted yours did not make a huge difference.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:28 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Switzerland
Yes of course, I didn't even know my timing was off :lol:

Time to:

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:15 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Somewhere far away...
Note: StepMania 5 and future versions don't have stepmania.ini. Instead, they have preferences.ini, which can be found in your user's appdata folder on Windows. Also, some of the options in that file are different.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:32 am
Posts: 18
Location: SVK
It's labeled under TimingWindow something in preferences.ini in SM5. Got the exact values as listed, I checked around.

Never thought rival-san Koni_Control had it set easier though... I believed we were around the same level... :(

I am disappointed Kona. Very disappointed.

_________________
Image
Signature by GotxBrains from Vocamania. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:00 am
Posts: 107
Location: The Netherlands
KandaRainbowsoul wrote:
It's labeled under TimingWindow something in preferences.ini in SM5. Got the exact values as listed, I checked around.

Never thought rival-san Koni_Control had it set easier though... I believed we were around the same level... :(

I am disappointed Kona. Very disappointed.

LOL
You should scold him a bit when he's on again ;]



Something interesting I found btw, this is what mine looks like (SM5):

TimingWindowAdd=0.000000
TimingWindowHopo=0.250000
TimingWindowJump=0.250000
TimingWindowScale=0.660000
TimingWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
TimingWindowSecondsHold=0.500000
TimingWindowSecondsMine=0.090000
TimingWindowSecondsRoll=0.500000
TimingWindowSecondsW1=0.022500
TimingWindowSecondsW2=0.045000
TimingWindowSecondsW3=0.090000
TimingWindowSecondsW4=0.135000
TimingWindowSecondsW5=0.180000
TimingWindowStrum=0.100000

As you can see, the values for Holds and Rolls are higher than allowed for this server, yet I have not been marked as timing?
Even with the TimingWindowScale taken into account, my value for TimingWindowSecondsHold (which should be the equivalent to JudgeWindowSecondsOK right?) is still higher than 0.25.
My TimingWindows are SM5's default too btw, I never fiddled around with them.
Just something interesting I noticed :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:16 am
Posts: 2
Location: Mobile, Alabama
For some reason, I did not modify my timing at all, but from time to time, I'd get the TIMING thing. Why does this happen?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:28 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Leawood, Kansas
Aerostar wrote:
For some reason, I did not modify my timing at all, but from time to time, I'd get the TIMING thing. Why does this happen?


It is rare, but still possible to get a false positive of timing. Our best guess right now is that it is due to client lag, but still hitting the notes within the timing window. Your timing count is as low as 3-4 which suggests you aren't actually cheating. At the moment we having the timing threshold at 3 so your scores with 2 or lower counts of timing aren't considered cheating. If we see enough of this we might considering raising the threshold to 5.

To avoid it in the future you could try turning down your graphics settings or closing other applications on your computer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:32 am
Posts: 3
Ok so I noticed I was on this list. So has the timing now been changed for 3.95 (and other versions) or do I still have to manually change it myself?

Edit: I just checked my scale and this is what pops up:

JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.022500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.045000

I should be penalized if it looks exactly the same as the one it should be


Last edited by Koni_Control on Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:39 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Leawood, Kansas
Koni_Control wrote:
Ok so I noticed I was on this list. So has the timing now been changed for 3.95 (and other versions) or do I still have to manually change it myself?


Your timing count to me indicates that you are just playing on a lower judge setting within stepmania and not a modified .ini. Go to options and change your judge back to 4 (default).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:32 am
Posts: 3
Izzy wrote:
Koni_Control wrote:
Ok so I noticed I was on this list. So has the timing now been changed for 3.95 (and other versions) or do I still have to manually change it myself?


Your timing count to me indicates that you are just playing on a lower judge setting within stepmania and not a modified .ini. Go to options and change your judge back to 4 (default).


It has always been 4. I have never changed it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Leawood, Kansas
Koni_Control wrote:
Izzy wrote:
Koni_Control wrote:
Ok so I noticed I was on this list. So has the timing now been changed for 3.95 (and other versions) or do I still have to manually change it myself?


Your timing count to me indicates that you are just playing on a lower judge setting within stepmania and not a modified .ini. Go to options and change your judge back to 4 (default).


It has always been 4. I have never changed it.


I'll look into it. Your timing count is 33 for every single song except a few recent ones. That likelyhood of this is pretty much impossible so there might an issue. What version of stepmania are you using?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:32 am
Posts: 3
I'm using 3.95. Don't worry about now. I increased my judge to 5 and adjusted my machine offset to compensate for the judge level. It should be fine now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Leawood, Kansas
Koni_Control wrote:
I'm using 3.95. Don't worry about now. I increased my judge to 5 and adjusted my machine offset to compensate for the judge level. It should be fine now.


That doesn't really solve the problem for us. We don't want it to be broken.

I'd recommend trying to redownload the game if you keep having problems with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 156
Thumbsy wrote:
KandaRainbowsoul wrote:
It's labeled under TimingWindow something in preferences.ini in SM5. Got the exact values as listed, I checked around.

Never thought rival-san Koni_Control had it set easier though... I believed we were around the same level... :(

I am disappointed Kona. Very disappointed.

LOL
You should scold him a bit when he's on again ;]


As you can see, the values for Holds and Rolls are higher than allowed for this server, yet I have not been marked as timing?
Even with the TimingWindowScale taken into account, my value for TimingWindowSecondsHold (which should be the equivalent to JudgeWindowSecondsOK right?) is still higher than 0.25.
My TimingWindows are SM5's default too btw, I never fiddled around with them.
Just something interesting I noticed :P


The network protocol doesn't even really send real useful values for holds so that is likely why messing with those should not ever result to timing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 156
Koni_Control wrote:
I'm using 3.95. Don't worry about now. I increased my judge to 5 and adjusted my machine offset to compensate for the judge level. It should be fine now.


Does stepmania run bad on you machine? I actually went ahead and changed all your old songs so they aren't counted as timing (the ones that were before it was implemented server-wide). You were actually the very lowest result of all the users I set and just barely over the threshold so I am willing to agree its a false positive in this case. I am curious why you get more than most other users though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group